The Struggle is Real

Losing my Internet connection for a couple of days has totally wrecked my momentum on this blog. So might as well get the wheels turning again by writing a post about my current situation right now.

Struggle1680x1050

You see, I just moved to the USA a few months ago from the Philippines and have been looking for a job ever since. I initially was looking for anything close to home, even minimum wage would do just to save up on my Gaming PC that I really want. But after months of months of searching I have yet to land a job.

I have degree in New Media Design but have never worked professionally since graduating in 2013. My first job was at a call center in the Philippines and it was a sales account. I got into that job through an agency promising a “gaming account” well guess what, they lied. I took the job anyway since I knew I could speak good enough English because it was technically my first language.

Fast forward to present time, I decided to move to the USA for greener pastures since I was an US citizen anyways and we were bound to move sooner or later. Believe me, even I’m surprised on how things are playing out and I expected to get a job right a way.

So right now to hasten the process of landing a job, I am working with a career coach. He is helping me get a job in the creative industry where I belong other than settling for entry level jobs in other industries that I’ve had no luck so far.

So this is what is holding me back from what I want to do in Life! Just give me a job already please!

Any Advice you can give me? I live in California, Pittsburg to be exact.

 

The struggle is SO REAL,

Dee

14 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real

  1. I know how you feel. I got my degree and moved halfway around the world and now I’m a volunteer in my industry of choice because it’s the only way to get my foot in the door.
    Good luck.

    Like

  2. I feel your pain sooo much; worse thing for me is that I can’t even look for a job yet because I have to wait until my visa is approved, which could take up to 2 years! Luckily I have a partner who is incredibly supportive and earns enough to keep us both afloat, but it’s stressful watching him struggle every day, and I was never one to be ok with being a “housewife” so to speak. In the meantime I’ve been doing a lot of unpaid freelance work to keep me busy and taking courses here and there to build up my CV. I’ve been giving a whole lot of advice on my blog about it all, but hopefully your career coach helps you out too! Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Starting is always the hard part i guess. Luckily I have a place to stay for free with relatives, but I don’t want to rely on them any longer. It causes me a lot of stress and I feel that I am held hostage by this job search.

      Like

  3. Eek. That sucks. In this economy, jobs are scarce. In the creative industry, it’s VERY competitive. I would suggest doing game-related work in your own time, as a hobby. For example, you can start a YouTube channel talking about games. You can start a website with your own game ideas/games that you’ve made yourself. It might help get your foot in the door, and if not, it’s good practice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If you have a new media degree, then start responding to the craiglists ads in the bay area for design, whatever skill set you have go market it. If you like gaming send emails to the companies that you want to work for or like there style. Go visit some ad agencies that specialize in gaming. Freelance, Freelance, Freelance, to build up your portfolio and client connections, if all that fails walk with a dress shirt and tie to all the small businesses in the area and ask about improving their web presence, with better sites, online options, making games for the businesses, integrating games with their business model. You have a ton of options. The world is your oyster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

